Teenage rock sensations set for AMP Awards final

Outside South.
Outside South.

By Katy Airey

The time has come again for the AMP Awards to take over the Royal Hall, Harrogate.

On Wednesday, February 12, students from schools in Boroughbridge, Knaresborough, Harrogate and Ripon will come together to compete in separate business and music competitions at the regional final.

This is the sixth year of the AMP Awards in Harrogate and, thanks to support from O2 Telefonica and Youth Music, it has now also expanded to Leeds, York and Bradford.

All teams are supported by local business mentors and two AMP Awards alumni from the very first competition in 2009 have returned to their former schools this year to coach and motivate their respective teams to success.

For ticket info, visit www.harrogatetheatre.co.uk

The AMP Awards: The finalists

Band: Uprising Pace

School: Outwood Academy Ripon

Members: Ahlea Lewin (vocals/guitar), Emily Scawthorn (keyboard), Sean Lyon (guitar)

Formed: Late 2013

Influences: Fall out Boy, Panic! At the Disco and All Time Low

Band: Weekend Offender

School: Boroughbridge High School

Members: Greg Mitchell (drums), Tom Palmer (guitar), Jake Barfield (bass), Harry Hutchinson (vocals), Flossy RG (vocals).

Formed: 2012. Competed in Amp Awards Harrogate 2013 Final

Influences: Green Day, Blink-182, Paramore, The Clash, Panic! At The Disco, Queen, Papa Roach

Band: Outside South

School: Nidderdale High School

Members: Emily Atkinson (lead vocals), Jack O’Brien (lead guitar), Richard Ellis (rhythm guitar), Oliver Bowerman (bass), Sky Wilson (drums)

Formed: October 2013

Influences: Green Day, Tommy Leatherbarrow, Bob Marley, Pearl Jam, Muse, Busted

Band: The Shades

School: King James’s School, Knaresborough

Members: Will Vessey (vocals), Olli Briscombe (bass and backing vocals), Gary Ng (keytar), Billy Watts (drums), Lewis Mawer (lead guitar), Rob Mawer (rhythm guitar)

Formed: 2013

Influences: Arctic Monkeys, Guns N’ Roses, Dire Straits, Royal Blood, Roosevelt

Band: Pandemonium

School: Ripon Grammar School

Members: Quinn O’Connell (guitar, lead vocals), Angus Forbes (drums), Mathew Dickinson (bass guitar/vocals)

Formed: Four years ago

Influences: Muse, Biffy Clyro, Alexisonfire, Rise Against and You Me At Six

Band: Evacuation

School: Harrogate Grammar School

Members: George Farrar (drums), Ethan Flynn (lead guitar), Lucy Ireland (lead vocals), Seb Etherington (bass)

Formed: Late 2013

Influences: Fleetwood Mac and everything from heavy rock to indie pop.

Band: Alister’s Theory

School: St Aidan’s High School, Harrogate

Members: Alexia Milson (vocals), Ruby Blunt (keyboards), Charlie Boulton (guitar), Elliot Tutt (bass), Alister Flint (kit), James Thomas (sax), Pete Clark (trumpet), Dan Hartley (trumpet)

Formed: 2012 to enter last year’s Amp Awards

Influences: Bruno Mars, Stevie Wonder, Scissor Sisters, Wild Cherry, Marvin Gaye and anything funky.

Band: Albion

School: St John Fisher High School, Harrogate

Members: James Megarry (bass guitar, lead vocals), Niall ‘Nige’ Robinson (drums, triangle, didgeridoo), Ollie Heum (rhythm guitar, vocals), Sam Kay (lead guitar, vocals)

Formed: Four years ago. Released first EP Crying with M in 2011.

Influences: Arctic Monkeys, The Smiths, The Beatles, Oasis, Girls Aloud, The Strokes, Susan Boyle, Wham.