Wetherby League round-up: Kirk Deighton close gap at top

NAWN 1405175AM5 Walton CC V Wetherby CC. Wetherby's  (1405175AM5)
NAWN 1405175AM5 Walton CC V Wetherby CC. Wetherby's (1405175AM5)

Kirk Deighton beat Old Modernians to kill the gap between themselves and leaders Wetherby.

Their six-point haul means they are now level on points with the 2012 champions.

Batting first, Mods achieved 116 all out with Jake McVicar hitting 31 while Aidan Marshall plundered 3-17 and Mark Harland a fearsome 5-25.

Deighton made 119-8 in reply, Jonathan Watkins’ 30 their best individual effort while Mods’ Stuart Borrill scooped 3-26 and Lewis Gomersall 3-55.

Wetherby limited Scarcroft to 161-9 before pulling home with ease at 163-3.

Old Leos v Barwick in Elmet was abandoned before starting, meaning the teams share two points apiece.

St Chad’s were too strong for Sicklinghall, amassing 141-8 thanks to contributions from Mark Bailey (60) and Howard Johnson (41).

Adam Ryszkowski captured 4-29 but Sicklinghall crumbled in reply, all out for 54 after Atiq Khan (4-14) and Fahim Khan (3-15) divided up the spoils.

Great Preston cantered past Bilton in Ainsty, who were bowled out for 57 thanks to a staggering display from Mark Mosby, who collected 7-32.

Preston knocked them off at 62-10, Andrew Walker’s undefeated 29 the highlight.

The clash between Walton and Shadwell saw Shadwell earn maximum points after Walton conceded.

Over in Division Two, Garforth Parish Church are top dogs. Their most recent victims were Kirk Hammerton, who they beat by four wickets on Saturday.

Tom Main (42) and Liam Fisher (41) batted Hammerton to 137 all out, Darren Childe the chief destroyer for Garforth with 3-27.

In reply, Andy Barnett (45) and Paul Scott (41) steered Garforth to victory at 138-6, Fisher taking 3-52.

Whixley are second in the table, having grabbed five points from Saxton.

Daniel Hewer’s unbeaten 51 led Saxton to 142-5, but Whixley were home and hosed at 144-5, largely thanks to John Richardson’s unbeaten 65. John Potter bagged 3-29.

A stunning display of bowling by Bilal Shahid led East Keswick to victory at Crossgates.

Keswick had amasssed 177-8, Shahid hitting 39 and Khalid Ehsan 62 while Shirish Vishnumohan took 3-36 and Adam Heslop 3-34.

But Shahid blew Gates away in reply, capturing 8-18 to skittle them for 65.

Church Fenton saw off Hillam and Monk Fryston, making 134 with the bat including 60 from Steven Parker-Harrison. Sammy Wainwright collected 3-24 and David Venables 3-38.

Hillam were all out for 73 in reply, Robert Love the chief destroyer with 4-15.

South Milford saw off Scholes by three wickets, Scholes all out for 89 after Rob Peregrine bagged 5-27 and Lawrence White 3-26.

Milford were over the line at 91-7, despite the efforts of Mike Ford (4-35).

Ledsham lost out to Thorner Mexborough, who posted 145-9 via Dave Clark (30) and Ishtiaq Ahmed (31).

Olly Baron took 4-17 and Johny Smales 3-32, but Ledsham were all out for 53 in reply.

Josh Walker claimed 4-21 and Amjum Bilal Sabir 3-26.

Division Three: Headingley Bramhope 39/0 Scarcroft A 38/9; St Chads Broomfield A 215/9 Rufforth 103/10; Green Hammerton 91/10 Thorner Mexborough A 76/9 ; Amaranth 84/10 Bilton in Ainsty A 87/3; Great Preston A 56/10 Sherburn Eversley 146/10; Long Marston 93/0 Kirk Deighton A 91/9

Division Four: Wetherby A 94/3 Saxton A 93/9; South Milford A 68/10 Headingley Bramhope A 69/0L Shadwell A 60/10 St Chads Broomfield B 128/10L Old Modernians A 143/10 Long Marston A 144/6; Meanwood 260/6 Old Leodiensians A 156/10; Barwick in Elmet A 152/9 Garforth Parish Church A 156/4.

Division Five: Headingley Bramhope B 153/5 Sicklinghall A 152/8 Finished; Kippax Welfare 84/8 Wighill Park 82/9; Sherburn Eversley A 91/3 Gledhow 89/10; East Keswick A 49/10 Hillam and Monk Fryston A 51/4; Church Fenton A 85/10 Crompark 86/2.

Division Six: Kirk Hammerton A 107/10 Crossgates A 138/7; Rufforth A 55/10 Scholes A 59/4; Amaranth A 196/4 Green Hammerton A 149/8.