Wetherby Cricket League: Old Mods take over as Kirk Deighton fell defending champions

NAWN 1404263AM1 Wetherby CC V Shadwell CC. Wetherby's Ian Twitchen. Picture : Adrian Murray.  (1404263AM1)
NAWN 1404263AM1 Wetherby CC V Shadwell CC. Wetherby's Ian Twitchen. Picture : Adrian Murray. (1404263AM1)

Wetherby returned to winning ways with a five-wicket victory over Shadwell.

Ian Twitchen captured 3-23 to help skittle Shadwell for 113, before hitting 31 alongside Jacob Brewer (32) and Simon Jackson (25no) to lead Wetherby home at 114-5.

Old Modernians moved top of the Wetherby League tree after seeing off Barwick in Elmet by seven wickets.

Barwick were bowled out for 80, with Lewis Gomersall collecting 4-32 and Stuart Borrill 3-10.

Jake McVicar (40no) paved the way for a Mods win at 81-3.

St Chad’s Broomfield were too strong for Bilton in Ainsty, amassing 179-8 thanks to sturdy efforts from Howard Johnson (58) and Sultan Mehmood (43).

Graham Hutchinson took 3-35 and Ian Hutchison 3-61, but Bilton found it heavy going in reply and were bowled out for 84, Mehmood the chief destroyer with 3-6.

Scarcroft hammered Sicklinghall by 70 runs, reaching 239-4 batting first thanks to steady work from Aaron Shackleford (80no), Damian Aston (42no) , Richard George Stephens (40) and Simon Smith (39).

Sicklinghall were ousted for 169 in reply, Martin Wood’s knock of 85 their only highlight after nobody else made it above 13.

Aston and Charles Silverton were the chief destroyers, plundering 4-35 and 4-36 respectively.

Reigning champions Great Preston were undone by one wicket at the hand of Kirk Deighton.

Ian Newton (63), James Bickerdike (40no) and Lee Russell (31) led the way for Preston to reach 163-8, against the bowling of Chris Malthouse (3-28) and Mark Harland (3-24).

Malthouse then hit 54 in reply and with Gavin Mills adding 39, Deighton edged clear at 166-9.

Old Leodiensians v Walton was abandoned before the game was due to start.

Meanwhile in Division Two, four games reached a conclusion.

Scholes are the new leaders, having crushed Saxton by 124 runs.

Mike Ford (63) set the tone for Scholes to accrue 215-9 batting first, in the face of some fierce bowling by John Potter (5-34).

But a destructive return of 6-13 for James Biscombe and 3-10 for Martin Finn cut short Saxton’s reply at 91 all out, Potter’s knock of 50 the main highlight.

Ledsham were unable to overturn Whixley, who posted 162-6 batting first.

Pat Greenwood fashioned a cultured 53, with John Richardson contributing 44 while Andrew Kelly collected 3-44.

Andy Paul Baron 943) and Johnny Smale (54) took Ledsham close but there was no cigar as Martin Lofthouse (3-35) helped peg them back at 158-6.

Garforth Parish Church were winners over East Keswick, reaching 115 batting first against the bowling of Bilal Shahid (4-25).

Wahab Hussain made 33 not out for Keswick, but Darren Childe’s haul of 5-15 helped skittle them out for 86.

Kirk Hammerton won a high-scoring battle with Church Fenton, amassing 289-6 courtesy of a super ton by Rob Cockerill (109) and an unbeaten 72 from Mark Wilson.

Fenton responded through Kendal Edgeley (63), a hefty 93 by Steven Parker-Harrison plus 37 by Adam Hanson but were short as they closed at 276-7.

South Milford v Crossgates and Hillam and Monk Fryston v Thorner Mexborough were both abandoned before starting.

Division Three: Thorner Mexborough A 147-10 6 Scarcroft A 14-10 1

Rufforth v Long Marston 38-2 Abandoned after starting

Green Hammerton 48-10 St Chads Broomfield A 52-0

Amaranth 83-10 0 Headingley Bramhope 84-5 6

Kirk Deighton A v Great Preston A Abandoned before starting

Bilton in Ainsty A v Sherburn Eversley Abandoned before starting.

Division Four:St Chads Broomfield B 25-0 6 Saxton A 24-9 ; Headingley Bramhope A 78-6 Barwick in Elmet A 76-10; Shadwell A 94-10 0 South Milford A 95-6; Old Modernians A 230-3 Wetherby A 103-6; Garforth Parish Church A v Meanwood Abandoned before starting;Long Marston A 134-6 Old Leodiensians A 131-10.

Division Five: Sicklinghall A 65-7 Church Fenton A 125-10; Kippax Welfare 99-7 Headingley Bramhope B 98-10; Sherburn Eversley A 36-4 Whixley A 35-10; Crompark 117-10 East Keswick A 126-8 ;Gledhow 158-10 Hillam and Monk Fryston A 61-10 .

DivisionSix: Crossgates A v Amaranth A Abandoned before starting; Meanwood A 180-6 Rufforth A 177-9; Kirk Hammerton A 82-3 Green Hammerton A 81-10.