Twitchen ton keeps Wetherby poised in pole for top flight title

hsb  Richard Winn bowling for Sicklinghall against Kirk Deighton.  (120728M4a)
hsb Richard Winn bowling for Sicklinghall against Kirk Deighton. (120728M4a)

Wetherby rampage on at the summit of the Wetherby League top flight, beating Great Preston by four wickets on Saturday.

Richard Young (60) and Ian Newton (51) batted Preston to 224-5, but a sparkling ton by Ian Twitchen (118no) plus 54 by Simon Jackson led Wetherby over the line at 227-6.

Caleb Grant crashed 104 for Kirk Deighton as they saw off Sicklinghall.

Grant’s knock took Deighton to 247-9, which Sicklinghall failed to match at 201-9 in reply.

Phil Wood topscored with 54 nto out.

Barwick kept Leeds Police at bay, accruing 248-4 via Cole Roscheller (58), Nick Swales (76no) and Pete Causon (74no).

Naseem Aslam cracked a superb 103 in reply but Police were all out at 233.

Ian Jenkins bagged 3-46 and Rob Nicholls 3-42.

Old Modernians lost to Bilton in Ainsty, Stu Borrill top-scoring with 64 as Mods racked up 206.

Tashmial Mills fired 114 against the bowling of Borrill (4-76) which carried Police to victory at 207-6.

St Chad’s Broomfield were felled by Walton, Chad’s all out for 115 after M Hussain captured 5-27.

B Driver (40) and K Patterson (31no) did enough to steer Walton to a seven-wicket win at 117-3.

Scarcroft were in big-scoring form against Shadwell, Damian Aston crafting 83 to help Scarcroft to 249-8.

Ben Turner (74) and A Elliott (41) couldn’t rescue Shadwell in reply, M Baker (4-69) and M Gregson (3-47) limiting them to 221.