Nidderdale League: Most valuable players list

NAWN 1406214AM10 Spofforth CC V Bishop Thornton.(1406214AM10)
NAWN 1406214AM10 Spofforth CC V Bishop Thornton.(1406214AM10)

With the Tour de France enforcing a break in the Nidderdale League this week, Graham Hyde looks at how the season has panned out so far, and who has been the most valuable player.

With 11 rounds scheduled and a few fixtures abandoned due to rain, it’s Pannal who lead the Theakston Nidderdale League Division One championship race from Ouseburn.

Pannal have come back into the top flight this season with a bang after a year in Division Two.

The Ellis brothers (Rob and Andy) are right up there in the batting performances and Andy has already taken 15 wickets.

But it’s Killinghall’s Aussie, Damien Lawrence who has hit 602 runs already at 150.5 (with a top score of 155no) who is the division’s leading runs scorer so far.

Alex Durie has taken 22 wickets at 12 with best figures of 8/37 and has propelled his team Hampsthwaite up into third.

The Nidderdale League has a new development for the 2014 thanks to our new League Management solution, CricHQ, with the introduction of the Most Valuable Player (MVP).

The system works out who is performing the best based upon runs, wickets, catches and wins.

So far, it’s Helperby’s overseas player, Atish Chouhan, who has led from week one with 316 runs and 19 wickets.

The top 10 is as follows:

1. Atish Chouhan (Helperby) 203.68

2. Damien Lawrence (Killinghall) 193.02

3. Andrew Hogan (West Tanfield) 180.92

4. Ben Lake (Arthington) 175.33

5. Martin Pearson (Birstwith) 173.94

6. Richard Kirby (South Kilvington) 170.53

7. Jamie Bryant (Ouseburn) 168.74

8. Steve Greensit (West Tanfield) 159.81

9. Edward Holmes (Glasshouses) 155.41

10: Charlie Hutchinson (Bishop Monkton) 154.84

It is worth noting that Glasshouses’ Amy Burton is in 11th position.

In Division Two, the half way stage leaders are Darley with Birstwith in second.

West Tanfield’s Andrew Hogan has hit 359 runs so far at 89.75 and also leads the Division’s MVP with 16 wickets too.

Darley’s lofty position is thanks to Joe Furniss who has already taken 19 wickets with a best of six for 12.

Darley’s overseas player arrived late to the 2014 party but has already hit 200 runs in just three innings.

It is perhaps worth noting that Masham’s legendary bowler, Derek Chapman, continues to pick up wickets – 17 so far.

Local rivals Ripon 2nds and Sharow are neck and neck at the top of Division Three.

Sharow’s captain Mike Ainsley tops the MVP – you get bonus points for being a winning captain.

Raskelf are in second spot and their young bowler Matt Hawkhead (and captain) has taken 19 wickets.

Considerable pressure has been placed on Kirkby Malzeard’s Iain Fraser this season but he has responded with 301 runs so far.

It is sad to note the loss of Kirkby Malzeard 2nds, Galphay and Winksley 2nds and also Killinghall 3rds all from Division Nine.

This leaves just seven teams in this division but the remaining sides are still playing competitive cricket and are also arranging friendly fixtures to keep the momentum going.

At the semi-final stage of the Atkinson Swires Senior Knockout, Pannal will play Birstwith and Helperby play Bishop Thornton.

Ties are due to be played on Sunday July 27th.

We now know the finalists for this year’s Barrett Cup. Finals Day is Sunday, August 3 at West Tanfield.

​Studley Royal 2nds will play Lofthouse & Middlesmoor.