Wetherby League: St Chad’s fly out blocks as Leos clinch thriller in final over

Bilton-in-Ainsty's Miles Lloyd
Bilton-in-Ainsty's Miles Lloyd

Four teams were bowled out for under 100 as the bowlers enjoyed the best of the opening weekend in the Wetherby League.

Reigning champions St Chad’s Broomfield had one of such lethal attacks in making a peerless start to the new campaign with a 135-run victory at Sicklinghall.

Alasdair Fearns and Howard Johnson both made 75 as Chad’s compiled 217/9 in the initial 45 overs before bowling their hosts out for just 82.

Atiq Khan was the star with the ball with 4-8, while overseas Tyler Johns took 3-23.

Centurion Stuart Cobbett smashed 22 off the final over as he inspired Old Leodiensians to a winning start against promoted South Milford.

Milford will have been confident of victory after posting 248/7 on their home track, with Peter Batty (65) and Billy Thompson (49no) at the head of the run-scoring.

Division One results

Division One results

However, Cobbett had other ideas, striking 135 not out to deliver a dramatic victory with two wickets spare.

Likely title challengers Kirk Deighton eased to a 10-wicket victory over Church Fenton with overseas signing Scott Jaffray snaring five wickets on his debut. Fenton collapsed to 89 all out and Rohan Sivajoti (50no) and Gavin Mills (37no) had little trouble in chasing it down.

Bilton-in-Ainsty were equally impressive in beating Shadwell by nine wickets with Australian Luke Schumann taking four wickets and scoring an unbeaten 29.

Just two players made double figures in Shadwell’s meagre total of 84. Miles Lloyd (31) was the only man to fall for Bilton.

Division Two results

Division Two results

Scarcroft’s new-look attack worked a treat to set up a seven-wicket win over Barwick-in-Elmet, who were bowled out for just 87.

Wahab Hussain (4-32) and Bilal Shahid (27no) impressed on their debuts as Scarcoft reached the low target with three wickets in hand.

Promoted Hillam and Monk Fryston were swept aside by Garforth Parish Church, who raced to a 146-run target losing only two wickets.

James Stockton (66) and James Baldwin (47no) hit the ground running to give Garforth maximum points.

In Division Two, Jim Ledgeway spun his way to four wickets as Rufforth defended a first innings total of 151 against Thorner Mexborough.

Zabulliah Khan made 38 in Thorner’s reply which came to an end on 104.

Long Marston finished up 42 runs short of victory at Ledsham after failing to chase down the hosts’ 216/9.

Opener Josh Ware made 54 for Ledsham before William Day ripped Marston’s top order apart with 4-35.

Sherburn Eversley won the battle of the promoted teams against Meanwood thanks to an unbeaten 93 from wicketkeeper John Kendall.

Howard Collier top-scored with 40 in Meanwood’s chase but the Leeds outfit were bowled out 27 runs shy of Sherburn’s 197/3.

Neighbours Headingley Bramhope and St Chad’s A both claimed convincing wins over Scholes and Kirk Hammerton, respectively.

Headingley bowled Scholes out for just 68 after Chris Dalby’s 66 led them to 215/9. Chad’s beat Kirk by 177 runs after racking up 302/9 at home.

Saxton’s game against Garforth Parish Church A was a wash out.

HOW'S STAT? Top five batsmen and bowlers

Best Batting

Stuart Cobbett (137*) Old Leodiensians Division 1

Stephen Wragg (110) Church Fenton A Division 4

Alex Smickersgill (104*) Crossgates A Division 5

Jordan Wagner (97) St Chads Broomfield A Division 2

John Kendall (93*) Sherburn Eversley Division 2

Best Bowling

Ronan Melody (5/28) Meanwood A Division 5

Scott Jaffray (5/33) Kirk Deighton Division 1

Amit Khulla (5/38) Crompark Division 3

Jonathan Barr (5/41) South Milford A Division 4

Tom Main (5/56) Kirk Hammerton Division 2