Spilsbury crowned champion at Bilton

editorial image

Almscliffe’s Angela Spilsbury was crowned Bilton Dragon Open Ladies Champion after beating Knaresborough’s Christine Robson 21-20.

In the quarters, Spilsbury beat Janet Mudd (Bilton Dragon) 21-8, Robson beat Irene Small (Bilton Dragon) 21-19, Dacre’s Jenny Savage beat Sue Moscrop from Bardsey 21-18, and Sarah Ravilious (Low Harrogate) beat Sara Elsworth (Bilton Dragon) 21-12.

The first semi-final between Robson and Savage sawRobson build up a 17-4 lead. Savage finally found her length however to mount a great fight back. Robson held on to end the game 21-19.

Spilsbury met ex-club mate Ravilious in the second final with Spilsbury. Ravilious had performed terrifically to reach the semi-final of this major event. The final proved elusive however as Spilsbury dominated much of the match to win 21-10. Robson has been in terrific form all season so a tough and exciting final with Spilsbury was guaranteed. Robson was first out the traps with a flying start building a good 10-2 lead. Robson led 20-16, needing one more point to clinch the title. Spilsbury finally got her hands on the Jack after a do or die end. She led over the remaining ends to run out a 21-20 winner. At the presentation Chris Light thanked Jane Blackburn for organising the event and Bilton Dragon members for their hard work. Light also thanked Mann’s newsagents for sponsoring the day.

Back in the League, Boston Spa finally look like they could push for promotion from Division Three. A great 7-3 win over Bardsey Osprey shows they mean business this year. Collingham remain second after beating Bilton Athenians 7-3. Other Division 3 results Starbeck 7 Knaresborough Badgers 3; Low Harrogate 7 Dacre Falcons 3; Wetherby Cavaliers 4 Black Swan 6.

Division One: Starbeck 8 (152)Bilton WMC 2 (130); Black Swan 2nd 8 (156) Bardsey Kestrels 2 (132);Wayside Travellers 6 (148) Pateley Bridge 4 (141);Bilton Centurion 8 (160) Knaresborough Lions 2 (112);Almscliffe Climbers 8 (157) Black Swan 2 (132).

Division Two: Almscliffe Ramblers 7 (139) Wetherby Knights 3 (132);Bilton WMC 2nd 3 (111) Bilton Trojans 7 (151);Dacre Eagles 8 (165) Low Harrogate A 2 (118);Bilton Spartans 7 (141) Starbeck 2nd 3 (136);Knaresborough Tigers 7 (152)Wayside Wanderers 3 (124).

Division Four: Pateley Bridge 2 5 (137) Wayside Rangers 5 (127); Bilton Corinthians 3 (141) Dacre Kites 7 (142);Collingham 2nd 7 (149) Bardsey Merlins 3 (127).

Division Five:Starbeck 4th 3 (134) Knaresboro Hounds 7 (138); Wayside Ramblers 7 (149)Low Harrogate D 3 (122)