Nova riders take on the professionals at Chevin Cycles series battle

editorial image

Event five of the Chevin Cycles Evening Road Race Series saw half a dozen local riders batting it out with the professionals in a five-lap race around the Milby-Cundall circuit.

The handicap race format sets riders off in groups, and over the 45 mile course, the last group of elite riders aim to ‘catch’ those in front.

The drizzle set in just as the first group rolled out, and one by one the groups were caught.

In a fast and furious sprint for the line, Niall Frost, Moonglu and Julian Varley of PH-MAS Cycling Team held on for fifth and sixth.

In the Ian Mountain Memorial Road Race, Harrogate Nova’s Dave Morris claimed a fine sixth place in a bunch sprint after 63 miles of racing.

Boneshakers Race Team’s Bobbin Gardner placed eighth in the Category 3/4 Doncaster Town Centre Race, part of the Doncaster Cycling Festival which saw Olympic gold medallist Ed Clancy win the elite event. In open time trials, a weekend of good weather saw a number of fast times recorded.

Harrogate Nova’s Alison Sarmiento lowered the club lady veteran 10 mile record for the second time in two weeks to 24:39 in the Stockton Wheelers TT.

At the Yorkshire Cycling Federation event on the fast V718 course near Hull, Duncan Mullier equalled his own Harrogate Nova club veteran 10mile record with a time of 19:56. Club mates Mike Hudson (21:10), Chris Mawer (22:50) and John Tiffany (24:14) also set new personal best times.

Event five of the Beech House Dental Practice Evening TT League saw riders take on the 10 mile ‘out and back’ between the Dishforth and Roecliffe traffic islands on the A168.

Alison Sarmiento was the only lady to brave the cold and wet conditions, recording a time of 26:45. In the men’s competition, it was a fifth straight win for Duncan Mullier in 22:41.

Nova’s Simon Cave claimed second spot (23:09) ahead of Dave Morris (23:10).

The event also saw riders competing for the Jowett Cup, awarded to the fastest rider on handicap in a 10 mile time trial.

Matt Dalby took the honours on the night with an adjusted time of 25:07 ahead of Walter Busuttil and TT newcomer Andy Stenson.