Mullier holds off challengers to scoop Hilly 19 trophy

Hilly 19 winner Duncan Mullier of Harrogate Nova. (S)
Hilly 19 winner Duncan Mullier of Harrogate Nova. (S)

DUNCAN Mullier sped to victory in spectacular style in the Fulford Cycles Time Trial League Hilly 19, starting and finishing at Ripley.

Nova hill specialists Mullier, the trophy winner in 2010, and 2009 victor Simon Ketteringham were both looking for the win, whilst Boneshakers’ Glen Turnbull and Yorkshire Velo’s Nigel Goscinski were also contenders. Turnbull set the pace, going off early, with 49:56, but Goscinski broke the vet’s record with 49:34, a record which stood for less than a minute, as it was broken seconds later by Ketteringham with 48:51. Ketteringham held on for marginally longer but the record fell for a third time when Mullier crossed the line in 48:21 to claim a third veteran’s record, second win and second trophy of the season.

Goscinski and Mullier between them have broken six of the seven veteran’s records available so far this season.

Turnbull was pushed down to fifth by Nova’s Dave Morris in 49:51. Sixth was Nova’s Edwyn Oliver-Evans in 50:17, breaking his own School Boy record. The ladies race was won yet again by Nova’s Joanne Ketteringham in 57:59, breaking her own ladies’ record, but she was pushed by team-mate Corinne Mitchell who was 26 seconds down.

Full results on

Next week’s event is the longest league event, the 25 mile TT on the A168 between Dishforth and Walshford.

The previous weekend Yorkshire Road Club’s Ian Fairweather and Nova’s Duncan Mullier visited the fastest ten course in the country in Humberside.

Fairweather gathered points in pursuit of retaining his Yorkshire Cycling Federation title with 20:33 and Mullier home in 21:55. Yorkshire Velo’s Nigel Goscinski chose the 50 mile TT on the A19 between Kirk Levington and Dishforth, improving his season’s best to a fantastic 1:54:27. Several other riders competed in the Holme Valley Wheelers open ten mile time trial held on an undulating stretch of the Great North Road near Ferrybridge.

Recent evening league winner Nigel Goscinski finished in the top six with a time of 23 minutes exactly. Boneshakers RT rider Olly Pearce finished creditable fourth place with a time of 22:50. After sustaining serious crash injuries during an April mountain bike race, Boneshakers RT veteran Steve Smales showed signs of a return to race fitness with second place overall with a time of 22:25.

The event was won by ex national 50mile medallist, Carl Saint in 21:43.