In-form pair Grant and Munro storm to Wetherby 10k wins

Wetherby 10k winners (Caught Light Photography)
Wetherby 10k winners (Caught Light Photography)

Harrogate Harrier Andy Grant produced a thrilling new personal best to clinch victory in the Wetherby 10K on Sunday.

Grant ran an evenly paced race throughout and held off the challenge of Billingham Marsh House runner Mike Jeffries to take the winner’s prize in 32 minutes 50 seconds.

Simon Newton of Ackworth finished third, with past winner and over 45 runner Gary Dunn of Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers (34.32) in fourth.

Wetherby Runners distance star Pauline Munro continued her fine season, which saw her retain her crown at the Leeds 10K earlier this summer, as she ran 35.56 to take the women’s prize.

Munro finished 30 seconds ahead of former Olympian and course record older Tracey Morris.

Ripon Runners’ Sharon Barlow-Hamilton put in a strong attack throughout the first three miles but she finished third in the women’s category in 37.09.

Harrogate athlete Ed Beecher took first place in the Under 20s category after running home in 36.10.

Thirsk runner Laura Bosomworth, 15, just saw off Wetherby’s Phoebe Coster in the women’s U20 race.

The team awards were dominated by Wetherby’s runners with the men’s team of Paul Milgate, Joseph Kwallah and Paul Nelson taking top spot and the second string in second.

The ladies team winners were also Wetherby with Pauline Munro, Pheobe Coster and Angela Reeve beating Ripon’s Ladies into second. These were Sharon Barlow- Hamilton, Donna Ridler and Anneke Imeson. 

Almost 1,000 runners took to the roads around the market town to compete in the popular race.

In the Wetherby Mini Marathon for junior runners, awards went to Luke Hutton (Wetherby) who was first U15.

He was closely followed by the first girl Laura Jeal  (1st U15) and Joe Bryant (2nd U15).

Second girl was Freddie Moore of Wetherby followed by Louise Whetton of Harrogate and the third boy was William Cograve.

In the Primary class first boy was Benjamin Cooper and Tally Diamond was first primary girl.

Other results: Alex Fawcett 37.39 (Ripon Runners); Reece Dalton 39:27 (Ripon Runners); Donna Riddler 42:59 (Ripon Runners); Joe Lofthouse 43:57 (Ripon Runners); Dan Wilson 44.54 (Knaresborough Striders); William Cunningham 45:48 (Ripon Runners); Nicola Carter 46.23 (K’boro Striders), Tony Crowther 46.36 (K’boro Striders), Dawn Richardson 64.05 (K’boro Striders) and Brenda Grant 69.26 (K’boro Striders).

l Meanwhile, Grant was also in form at the recent Spofforth 10K, finishing second in a time two minutes slower than that posted in Wetherby.

The Harrier finished in 34.42, six places ahead of teammate Jamie Dilasser (eighth) in 38.37.

Fellow Harrrogate athletes Rob Garbutt (40.27), Nathan Smith (42.00) and Simon Moffatt (42.54) also made the top 50 placings.