Harrogate youngster impresses on world stage

Edwyn Oliver-Evans. (S)
Edwyn Oliver-Evans. (S)

Boneshakers’ junior Edwyn Oliver-Evans represented Great Britain at the World Mountainbike Orienteering Championships in Veszprém, Hungary at the end of August.

The event was composed of four world championships: the sprint, the medium, the long race and the team relay. He took 18th in the sprint distance world championships- the highest position ever achieved by a British male junior in the world MTBO championships. In the the middle distance, Oliver-Evans’ earned another 18th place, managing to place 11th at one of the intermediate splits.

For the third event, the team relay world championships, Oliver-Evans was selected by the team to race in the elite category, after his strong showing in earlier races Not only did Oliver-Evans benefit from this experience, but also helped the team to place 17th nation. Rounding off the week, Oliver-Evans’ final event was the long distance final, after having qualified earlier in the week. The Harrogate junior finished 22nd.

The final event of the Fulford Cycles Time Trial league was a four-mile ascent of the private road from Lofthouse to Scarhouse Dam.

Nova’s Duncan Mullier won his fourth event of the season in 12:00, 14 seconds ahead of course record holder Greg Ketteringham. Last week’s hill climb winner, Pete Shepherd, came in third, 19 seconds down. The ladies’ event was won by Nova’s Alison Sarmiento in a new record time of 15:08 and the father and son tandem team of Ben and Martin Shaw reached the top in 16:36. The series was won by Boneshaker’s Steve Smales with a best nine of nine wins, followed by Mullier with four wins and five seconds. Dave Morris finished third with three seconds, four thirds and two fourths. The ladies Championship was regained by Joanne Ketteringham of Nova with nine wins. Second was Corinne Mitchell with two wins, six seconds and a third and in third Alison Sarmiento with three wins, four seconds and two thirds.

The riders would like to thank Vaughan and Margaret Caswell for running the series.