Wetherby, Harewood, and Tadcaster local election candidates announced

The count for the 2010 election.
The count for the 2010 election.

Alongside the general election on May 7, local elections taking place will see candidates standing for parish, town, district, and city councils.

Profile interviews with the candidates, listed below, will be included in the Wetherby News from next week in the run up to the election.

Starting with the Wetherby ward, which encompasses several villages such as Boston Spa and Collingham, next week, Harewood candidates and Tadcaster candidates for Selby District Council will be interviewed as part of our coverage.

Though all seats are currently held by Conservative councillors, this year nothing is certain and candidates are not taking anything for granted.

As with the national picture, the growth of previously minor parties is having a dramatic effect, so strongholds of majority votes could well change this time around.

These local election profiles will be in addition to our interviews with the Prospective Parliamentary Candidates for the Elmet and Rothwell and Selby and Ainsty constituencies in the general election, available on our website.

Only some of the seats in the three wards are up for the taking. In Wetherby and Harewood only one of the three seats in each ward are up, while two seats in Tadcaster West and one in Tadcaster East are available.

Elections for the other seats are held separately in other years, meaning no ward has a completely new panel of councillors every election.

l HAVE YOUR SAY: email news@wetherbynews.co.uk or get in touch via Twitter @Wetherby_News or Facebook www.facebook.com/WetherbyNews


WETHERBY: Alan Lamb (Con), John Lynch (Lab), Sara Howell (Lib Dem), Sam Murray (Green), Bronwen Cole (UKIP).

HAREWOOD: Rachel Procter (Con), Tosin Abbey-Philip (Lab), Christine (Lib Dem), Janet Heath (Green), Ian Greenberg (UKIP).

TADCASTER (East and West, for Selby District Council) : Chris Metcalfe (Con), Don Mackay (Con), Richard Sweeting (Con), Steve Cobb (Lab).