Harrogate district elections: Live results

Ballot Box
Ballot Box

Harrogate district residents went to the polls yesterday, May 5, in what looks to have been the biggest set of elections outside of a general election, for some years.


First Borough results in - Former mayor Nigel Simms #Cons holds his Mashamshire seat with 538 votes

Lower #Nidderdale is held by #Conservatives - Nathan Hull with 561 votes taking retired Christine Hill's seat.

#Boroughbridge - Robert Windass holds his #Conservative seat, Shan Oakes from the Green Party second with 82 votes.

#Pateley Bridge - Stan Lumley holds his #Conservative seat with 392 votes, just beating Independent Stan Beer with 319 votes.

Bishop Monkton - Ian Galloway comfortably holds his #Conservative seat with 556 votes, Green's Greig Sharman second with 116.

#Newby - Nicholas Brown holds his #Conservative seat with 689 votes, beating Labour's Matthew Forth with 156 votes

Kirkby Malzeard: Margaret Atkinson holds her #Conservative seat with 713 votes, beating Labour's Graham Vivienne with 204 votes

#Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale - Shirley Fawcett holds her #Conservative seat with 643 votes, beating Labour's Caroline Walker with 116.

#Killinghall - Michael Harrison holds his #Conservative seat with 559 votes, beating UKIP's Kenn Hart into second with 105 votes.

#Wathvale - Bernard Bateman holds his #Conservative seat with 507 votes, ahead of Labour's Alan Woodhead with 190 votes.

#Washburn - Christine Ryder holds her #Conservative seat with 761 votes, beating Labour's Nicolas Murray into second with 136.

Nidd Valley - Thomas Watson holds the Liberal Democrat seat with 447 votes, previously held by retiring Helen Flynn


Not only did residents vote on local council elections but they will also vote in the police and crime commissioner (PCC) elections.

The first ward declarations for district council elections will be at 1.30pm, and PCC at 5pm, and you can keep up to date with the Advertiser online for coverage.

For Harrogate Borough Council, 16 of the district’s 54 local seats will be contested with parish elections also taking place.

Conservatives and Labour will be fielding candidates in all 16 seats, with the Lib Dems contesting seven, six Greens, UKIP with two and one Independent.

Bishop Monkton, Boroughbridge, Claro, Killinghall, Kirkby Malzeard, Lower Nidderdale, Marston Moor and Mashamshire will all be contested.

As will Newby, Nidd Valley, Ouseburn, Pateley Bridge, Ribston, Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale, Washburn and Wathvale.

Prominent council figures including Caroline Bayliss, Helen Flynn, John Savage, Anthony Alton, Chris Lewis and Christine Hill will also be retiring this year.

Voting will also take place in 40 police areas in England and Wales, including North Yorkshire for the role of PCC.

Conservative candidate Julia Mulligan will be standing for reelection against Labour’s Stephen Howley, Lib Dem’s James Blanchard and Independent Mike Pannett.