Ashville College Speech Day: winners in full

The Ashville College prize winners. (S)
The Ashville College prize winners. (S)

Redcar MP and former Ashville College pupil Ian Swales was the guest speaker at this year’s Ashville College Speech Day.

The annual event, which was held at the Harrogate International Centre, was attended by hundreds of pupils, their parents, teachers and members of the governing body.

The audience, which included the Mayor of Harrogate, Coun Michael Newby and his consort Clive Kirkham, heard Mr Swales talking about his time at Ashville and life as an MP, before presenting the prizes.

Upper Sixth Prizes

Prize for Art Isabelle Holmes; Prize for History of Art Isabelle Holmes; Frederick Swire Memorial Prize for English Literature Polly Whitelam; Prize for French Polly Whitelam; Prize for Music Harry Williams; Hugh Stirling Moore Prize for History James Bushby; Prize for Spanish James Bushby; George Waddell Prize for Religious Studies Andrea Marinkovic; Elizabeth Harvey Prize for German Speaking William Prentis; Prize for German William Prentis; Henry Chatterton Memorial Prize for Geography Ruth Belchez; Carol Tinker Prize for Economics Rory Stanyard; Barrie Dale Memorial Prize for Mathematics Rory Stanyard; Prize for Latin Simon Jackson; Southam Prize for Physics Yvette Tao; Prize for Further Maths Yvette Yao; Prize for Environmental Studies William Peckham; Prize for Computing William Peckham; Prize for English Language Lily Kerbey; Prize for Biology Mayowa Akeredolu; Prize for Design Technology Robert Newport; Dr Norman Smith Memorial Prize for Chemistry Thomas Ogilvie; Prize for Progress in English as a Foreign Language Vorada Wanichpraserporn; Prize for Phsyical Education Nicholas Fallon/Alexander Nicholls; Prize for Politics Thomas Averre; Prize for Psychology Lizi Crocker; Melissa Calvert Memorial Prize Yoyo Chow; Paul Webster Memorial Prize John Mason; Turner Prize for all-round merit Katherine Bullock/Jamie Willett; Ashvillian Society Centenary Prize.

Lower Sixth Prizes

Prize for Economics Alex Hunter; Prize for History Alex Hunter; Burnett Memorial Prize for English Literature Alex Hunter; Les Smith Practical Chemistry Prize Alex Penn; Ashvillian Society Prize for Biology Rebecca Leventhal; D J Welsh Prize for Physics Douglas Johnson;

Tom Sawyer Memorial Prize for French Douglas Johnson; Prize for Art Alsia Lo; Prize for Design Technology Olivia Harris; Lower Sixth Prize for Physical Education Matthew Rudolph; Prize for Spanish Catriona Thompson; Prize for GermanEmily Turnock; Prize for Geography Katie Cross; Prize for Chemistry Brittan McCarthy; Prize for Further Mathematics Brian Law; Prize for English Language Georgia Whone; Prize for Theatre Studies Pippa Feldberg-Collins; Prize for Computing William Dyson; Prize for Business Studies Ellie Rutter; Prize for Religious Studies Tess Whitelam; Prize for Politics Matthew Butcher; Prize for Mathematics Burkho Mahlati; Prize for Psychology Rebecca Fallon; Mary Beckett Prize Laura Douthwaite; Paul Webster Memorial Prize Jack Beddard; Lower Sixth Prize for All Round Merit Michael Holmes.

College Prizes

James Booth Memorial Prize for Drama Gina Hawksworth; Special Music Prize Thomas Smith; Lawrence Crowther Prize for Public Speaking Thomas Averre; Ross Prize for Outstanding Contribution to Girls’ Sport Katherine Bullock; Mike Burke Prize for Community Service (shared) Ruth Belchetz/Polly Whitelam; Hirst Prize, Deputy Head Prefect Katherine Bullock; Cuthbertson Memorial Prize, Head Prefect Thomas Averre.