VIDEO: Harrogate and District Volunteering Oscars 2014: The winners

Community champions from across the district were recognised at the Harrogate and District Volunteering Oscars.

The seventh annual Volunteering Oscars ceremony took place at the Old Swan Hotel, hosted by Harrogate Borough Councillor for Granby John Fox and the Chief Executive of Harrogate and Ripon Centres for Voluntary Service, Karen Weaver.

Coun John Fox welcomed guests to the Volunteering Oscars

Coun John Fox welcomed guests to the Volunteering Oscars

The Volunteering Oscars are supported by the Harrogate Advertiser Series, and a full list of winners will accompany images in this week’s newspapers (November 6).

News Editor Alex Johnston said: “The Volunteering Oscars give us all a chance to learn more about the incredible work the estimated 25,000 volunteers across the Harrogate district do.

“Congratulations to all winners, and those who were nominated.

“Thank you to readers for taking the time to nominate, we hope you will do the same next year.”

Images and video to follow

• Young Volunteers of the Year: Jessica Quigley and Lizzie Jackson

• Care Volunteer of the Year: Anne Hoole

Highly Commended: Jane Kelly

• Community Volunteer of the Year: Hannah Beck

Highly Commended: Sarah Bailes and Ann Hill

• Environment Volunteer of the Year: Timothy Stewart

Highly Commended: Rachel Green and Sandra Schiendorfer and Saint Michael’s Hospice Gardening Team

• Sports Volunteer of the Year: Cliff Trotter

Highly Commended: Tom Hildreth and David Terzza

• Wildlife Volunteer of the Year: Geoff Scurrah

Highly Commended: Teresa Marshall and Rachel Green and Sandra Schiendorfer

The Harrogate Advertiser Series awards for unsung heroes

• Harrogate: Pam Roberts

Highly Commended: Charlotte Macrae and John Shackleton

• Knaresborough: Dorothy Harrison

Highly Commended: Brian Bradley-Smith

• Ripon and Boroughbridge: Claire Green

Highly Commended: Judith Jones, John Todd and Tom Hildreth

• Nidderdale: Biddy Noakes

Highly Commended: Margaret Kendrew

• New Volunteer of the Year: Amanda Martyn

Highly Commended: David Healy, Ruth Bakes and Tim Wokes

• Trustee of the Year: Joy Allen

Highly Commended: Janet Chapman, John Beck, Tony Collins and Glyn Robins

• Organisation of the Year: Supporting Older People

Highly Commended: Harrogate Hospital Radio and Ripon Youth Theatre

• Corporate Engagement Award: Harrogate Town AFC

Highly Commended: Boots team

• Volunteer of the Year: The winner of this award wished to remain anonymous

Highly Commended: Joy Barker, Robina MacDonald

• Special Award: Tony Handley and Mark Firth

• Lifetime Volunteer: John Todd

The following organisations supported the 2014 Volunteering Oscars:

Harrogate Advertiser Series


Enid Taylor Ltd

Harrogate & Ripon Councils for Voluntary Service

Harrogate Chamber of Trade & Commerce

Harrogate International Centre

Harrogate Town AFC

Marshall Zoing Ltd

Ogden of Harrogate

Orb Community Enterprise

Stephen H Smith’s Garden and Leisure

The Blue Water Partnership

The Old Swan Hotel

Yorkshire Building Society