Biggest turn out for Wetherby’s 10k

Organisers of the Wetherby 10k say they have seen the largest field of runners in the event’s nine year history.

The sun shone brightly last Sunday as the town’s MP Alec Shelbrooke set the runners underway at the town’s racecourse.

Setting out on the 10k.

Setting out on the 10k.

Race director Rob Gray told the Wetherby News: “With 983 entries Wetherby 10k had the largest field of runners gathered at Wetherby Racecourse in its nine year history on Sunday.

“There were a further 142 runners in the Wetherby Mini Marathon and all were in for a ‘cracking little Yorkshire run’ as the race is also commonly known by.”

He confirmed that the event, hosted by Wetherby Runners AC and helped by Wetherby Dictrict Lions, attracted a top-class field.

“A gala atmosphere was evident as the Wetherby Run has become an established community event with the support of many of the shops in the town,” added Mr Gray.

The event backed local charity the Friends of Alfie Martin which raises money for baby care.

First local athlete home was Wetherby’s Joseph Kwallah who lifted the Gray Cup for his efforts and Wetherby’s Pauline Munro won the women’s race.

“The day was about so much more than personal performances,” added Mr Gray.

“There were runners taking part for the charitable causes – Wetherby Osteopaths were kept busy as finishers crossed the line and looking forward to a massage of weary tendons and muscles.

“Their proceeds were also donated to The Friends of Alfie Martin charity.

“Swift Research provided gifts for the runners, as had Redline racing by sponsoring the large tea mugs each finisher was given.”

The mini marathon, saw 142 set out on the course which follows the old railway line.

The field included four-year-old Lucy Davey who ran all the way with mum Jo.

And Wetherby Juniors were in abundance, challenging for top places.

Mr Gray added: “The sun once again shone on A Cracking Little Yorkshire Run and the event had again, with the assistance of many volunteers and businesses, put the town on the sporting map.

Harrogate Harrier Andy Grant produced a thrilling new personal best to clinch victory in the Wetherby 10K on Sunday.

Grant ran an evenly paced race throughout and held off the challenge of Billingham Marsh House runner Mike Jeffries to take the winner’s prize in 32 minutes 50 secods.

Simon Newton of Ackworth finished third, with past winner and over 45 runner Gary Dunn of Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers (34.32) in fourth.

Wetherby Runners distance star Pauline Munro continued her fine season, which saw her retain her crown at the Leeds 10K earlier this summer, as she ran 35.56 to take the women’s prize.

Munro finished 30 seconds ahead of former Olympian and course record older Tracey Morris.

Ripon Runners’ Sharon Barlow-Hamilton put in a strong attack throughout the first three miles but she finished third in the women’s category in 37.09.

Harrogate athlete Ed Beecher took first place in the Under 20s category after running home in 36.10.

Thirsk runner Laura Bosomworth, 15, just saw off Wetherby’s Phoebe Coster in the women’s U20 race.

The team awards were dominated by Wetherby’s runners with the men’s team of Paul Milgate, Joseph Kwallah & Paul Nelson taking top spot and the second string in second.

The ladies team winners were also Wetherby with Pauline Munro, Pheobe Coster & Angela Reeve beating Ripon’s Ladies into second. These were Sharon Barlow- Hamilton, Donna Ridler & Anneke Imeson. 

Almost 1,000 runners took to the roads around the market town to compete in the popular race.

In the Wetherby Mini Marathon for junior runners, awards went to Luke Hutton (Wetherby) who was first U15.

He was closely followed by the first girl Laura Jeal  (1st U15) and Joe Bryant (2nd U15).

Second girl was Freddie Moore of Wetherby followed by Louise Whetton of Harrogate and the third boy was William Cograve.

In the Primary class first boy was Benjamin Cooper and Tally Diamond was first primary girl.

Other results: Alex Fawcett 37.39 (Ripon Runners); Reece Dalton 39:27 (Ripon Runners); Donna Riddler 42:59 (Ripon Runners); Joe Lofthouse 43:57 (Ripon Runners); Dan Wilson 44.54 (Knaresborough Striders); William Cunningham 45:48 (Ripon Runners); Nicola Carter 46.23 (K’boro Striders), Tony Crowther 46.36 (K’boro Striders), Dawn Richardson 64.05 (K’boro Striders) and Brenda Grant 69.26 (K’boro Striders).