Runners cap off league season in style as Lambert earns ladies title

editorial image

Wetherby Runners saved their best for last, winning three individual trophies at the final Harrogate District Summer Race League meet of the year.

The sublime results around the five mile route, which crossed Sicklinghall, Kearby and Netherby, meant Wetherby ended the league second overall behind Harrogate Harriers.

Wetherby’s ladies open age squad put in an exceptional display and had three runners place in the top four to steal the team trophy from rivals Harriers.

The ladies veterans team pulled back from languishing in fourth midway through the year to finish second in the final standings.

Pauline Munro and Lisa Mawer headed the veterans ladies in first and second respectively.

Mawer’s performance grabbed the individual ladies veteran championship as Caroline Lambert clinched the overall ladies title.

Richard Bewell also won the over 50 title and Ben Pye claimed best Young Runner of the Year. The men’s veterans repeated their top team performance from the previous three races to claim a second successive trophy.

Wetherby’s top three, Pye, Joseph Kwallah and Munro secured a third-place elite team score for a a fourth overall elite finish.

which equalled the club’s best elite result obtained last year.